If you are seeking foreclosure assistance, the following links may be of help: Save the Dream Ohio, the Neighborhood Housing Partnership of Greater Springfield and the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.
Sheriff Sales are held on Wednesdays at 10:00 A.M. in the hallway of the Logan County Courthouse Annex (aka Logan County Office Complex), the building that sits behind the Courthouse. The address is 100 S. Madriver Street, Bellefontaine, Ohio.
Sale notices are published in the Bellefontaine Examiner and also updated on this site. The status of a sale can change at any time right up to the time of sale.
Properties are appraised from the outside only. All property sold at a Sheriff’s sale is sold “as is”. The Logan County Sheriff’s Office and the appraising agents make no representations, assume no responsibility and are not liable for any condition of the property including any environmental or hazardous condition that may exist within, under, around or near the property being sold.
If the property is vacant the Sheriff’s Office may hold an “open house”. The “open house” will be on the date and at the time indicated only. In all cases in which an “open house” is not indicated, the Sheriff’s Office does not have keys, nor can we give you any rights to tour the property. The Property Search application on the County Auditor’s web page may be able to provide you with information such as number of rooms, square footage, etc. Logan County Auditor’s Website
Terms of Sale:
BANK FORECLOSURE: All purchasers are required to deposit 5% of the appraised value in cash, certified check or bank money order at the time of the sale.
TAX FORCLOSURE (Plaintiff is Logan County Treasurer): All purchasers are required to deposit 10% of the final purchase price in cash, certified check or bank money order at the time of sale.
ALL SALES: The balance in cash, certified check of bank money order is due upon confirmation of the sale. If down payment is not given at the time of sale, property will be resold on the spot. Cashier checks and bank money orders are to be made payable to the Logan County Sheriff.
Please print and legibly complete the “Purchaser Information Form” and bring it to the auction. This form must be completed and submitted with the deposit.
All starting bids are two-thirds of the appraised amount (or, in the case of “Tax Forclosures”, the full amount of the judgement) . By law the sale must be a public sale, unless otherwise ordered by the Court. You or a representative must appear to bid. All bidding is done at the sale. No prior or sealed bids are taken. There is no prior registration. Make sure you have your deposit and Purchaser Information Form with you.
All purchasers will have 30 days from the date of sale to obtain an examination of title to the real estate being sold. Should such title examination disclose that the title is unmarketable, the purchaser may within 30 days notify the court, by written motion, to set aside the sale. The court may set aside the sale or allow a reasonable time not to exceed 90 days to remedy the defect.
Be aware that certain costs (i.e. utlity bills) may follow the property. It is up to the buyer to conduct his/her own research prior to bidding.
Purchasers are advised that the Protecting Tenants at Foreclosure Act of 2009 requires that tenants residing in foreclosed residential property be provided at least 90 days notice to vacate. Except where the purchaser will occupy the property as the primary residence, the term of any bona fide lease also remains in effect. No representations or warranties of any kind are being made as to the tenancy rights in or lease status of the property being sold.
Note: The property still belongs to the original owner even though the order of sale has been issued from the court. If you purchase a property at sheriff’s sale, and have a 5% deposit down, it still belongs to the original owner until the Common Pleas Judge has signed the Confirmation of Sale. The Plaintiff’s Attorney is responsible for preparing the Confirmation Entry and submitting it to the Judge for review and signing. This process takes 30 days or more.
Taxes are prorated to the date of confirmation of the sale and paid out of the proceeds of the sale.
If after the sale is confirmed and the deed is filed, the previous owner is still living in the house, you or your attorney must file a “PRAECIPE” with the Clerk of Courts to get a “Writ of Possession” issued. The Sheriff’s Office will remove the people on issue of the writ. You may be responsible for providing manpower to set out their belongings.
For questions regarding Sheriff’s sales please contact: